VETERINARY PATHOBIOLOGY

Theresa E. Rizzi, DVM, DACVP-Clinical Professor and Department Head

The Department of Veterinary Pathobiology delivers state-of-the-art research, instruction, and diagnostic service for the disciplines of bacteriology, mycology, immunology, parasitology, pathology, virology, epidemiology and public health. The Pathology Department is the proud home of the National Center for Veterinary Parasitology, and the academic home of the Director of Animal Resource Unit and Attending Veterinarian, and faculty associated with the Oklahoma Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory. Departmental faculty participate in research sponsored by the NIH, USDA, and other government-sponsored research units as well as private industry focused on infectious diseases important in animals and people. The department is actively engaged in training the next generation of veterinarians, veterinary specialists, and scientists, publishing basic and applied scientific works and presenting findings at scientific and educational platforms throughout the world.

Residency Programs

Residency Coordinators: Dr. Valerie McElliott, Anatomic Pathology, and Dr. James H. Meinkoth, Clinical Pathology

Residency programs in anatomic and clinical veterinary pathology are offered. Candidates must have a DVM degree or equivalent. The anatomic and clinical pathology residency programs are three years with options to enter the PhD program. The programs are designed for those interested in diagnostic veterinary pathology and board certification by the American College of Veterinary Pathologists. Residency training occurs through the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital and through the Oklahoma Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory. The program involves extensive diagnostic casework primarily of domestic animals and includes weekly case conferences and seminars. In addition, abundant archived materials are available for the specialty board preparation.

Application Procedure

Usually, one new residency training position is available each year in anatomic pathology and one new residency position every 1-2 years in clinical pathology. Open positions are listed at the ACVP website (https:// www.acvp.org/) and in the "Educational Opportunities" section of the Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association.

Faculty

Regents Professors and Endowed Chairs: *Anthony W. Confer, DVM, PhD, DACVP (emeritus) and Walter R. Sitlington Endowed Chair; Clinton J. Jones, PhD, Regents Professor and Sitlington Endowed Chair Professors: *James H. Meinkoth, DVM, PhD, DACVP; *Akhilesh Ramachandran, BVSc & AH, PhD, DACV; *Jared Taylor, DVM, MPH, PhD, DACVIM, DACVPM

Clinical Professor: *Theresa Rizzi, DVM, DACVP

Associate Professors: *Fernando Vicosa Bauermann, DVM, PhD, and Sitlington Endowed Chair in Veterinary Medicine; Tom Oomens, PhD; Joy Scaria, PhD, Associate Professor and Sitlington Endowed Chair in Infectious Disease; *Lindsay Starkey, DVM, PhD, DACVP Clinical Associate Professor: *Susan E. Fielder, DVM, MS, DACVP Assistant Professors: Rudragouda Channappanavar, DVM, MVSc, PhD; *Kathryn Duncan, DVM, PHD, DACVM-P; Mayara Maggioli, DVM, PhD; *Sunil More BVSc & AH, MVSc, PhD; *Jennifer Rudd, DVM, PhD, DACVM; *Ruth C. Scimeca, BVSc, MS, PhD, DAVM-P

Clinical Assistant Professor: *Alexandra Ford, DVM, DACVP; *Valerie McElliott, DVM, PhD, DACVP; *Brianne Taylor, DVM, MS, DACVP Associate Research Professor: Edmour Blouin, PhD (emeritus) Assistant Research Professor: Kelly Harrison, PhD; Jeff Ostler, PhD Residents: Kelsey Duensing, DVM; Alys Harshbarger, DVM; Sarah Myers, DVM; Sai Narayanan, BVSc & AH, MVSc, PhD; Adriana Villasenor, DVM Graduate Teaching Associates: Patil Basavaraju, BVSc; Lariane de Silva Barcelso, PhD; Ryan Carson, DVM/MS; Laura Centurion, MS; Debarai Chanda, PhD; Amal Cheemadan, PhD; Roshan Ghimire, PhD; Sachithra Gunasekara, BS; Sankha Hewawasam, PhD; Tanim Islam, PhD; Jeeviya Murugesan, BVSc; Sarah Myers, PhD/Resident; Diani Nanayakkara, PhD; Brittani Peake, MS; Hafez Sadeghi, PhD; Vanessa Santos, PhD; Shorog Shatnawi, PhD; Rakshya Shrestha, PhD; Rachel Smith, PhD; Mego Terhuia, PhD; Vishnu Thyil Valappil, PhD; Binta Varghese, PhD; Crystal Villalva, PhD; Jonna Whetsel, PhD; Cody Whitley, PhD Graduate Research Associates: Pramila Lamichhane, MS; Mego Terhuja, BVSc, MVSc; Brittanie Peake, MS; Rakshya Shrestha, PhD; Miruthula Tamil Selvan, PhD; Crystal Villalva, PhD

*Board Certification in Specialty Area